The Spice of Life is Pumpkin

I always have loved pumpkins! They have always meant Autumn and cooler weather for me. Everyone equates pumpkins as carved décor for Halloween, but they are so much more than that !

Pumpkins are a true powerhouse , you can make sweet desserts such as cheesecake, bread,smoothies and donuts.

As well as savory meals such as a Pumpkin risotto, soups and ravioli. You can even mix in some pureed pumpkin into gravies for extra body to the sauce ( and healthier )

I cannot think of many fruits that are capable of doing this! Yes I couldn’t believe these gourds were fruits either ! There are so many vitamins and minerals in pumpkins as well ! ( Vitamin C, E and folate to name a few)

Homemade Pumpkin Bread drizzled with Honey

Warm roasted salted pumpkin seeds are sometimes better tasting than a bowl of popcorn to snack on while watching a classic horror movie!

Pumpkin Risotto

Some might think there are possibly too many choices when it comes to pumpkin themed snacks , I am not one of those people however. I have my own little jar of Pumpkin Pie Spice so I can have a Pumpkin Spice Latte in the middle of June if I want !

Pumpkin Donut

Super Simple Pumpkin Soup Recipe

  • 1 small can of Pumpkin Puree
  • 2 Cups Chicken or Vegetable Broth
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

In a sauce pan mix all ingredients over medium low heat , bring to a simmer and serve with warm crusty bread or crackers !

It really is as simple as that , you can even mix in some cooked chicken or mix in some cream for added richness .

I hope to share with you more recipes including Pumpkin in the future !

Leave a comment